7 Ways to Date a Guarded Woman

A guarded woman needs to be understood.

Like a castle in medieval times, a woman who has been hurt, abandoned, emotionally and possibly physically abused, and left broken will build these thick walls up to protect herself. The walls they have up will remain impenetrable, and anyone trying to get in will find it almost impossible.

I have found myself drawn to women like this my entire life. A moth to a flame doesn’t even do justice to how and why I find myself loving these types of women. I suffer from a horrible case of Prince Charming complex. I want to rescue hurt women and show them what love can and should look like. So when I speak on loving a guarded woman, I feel I have an immense amount of knowledge and understanding to write this piece competently and give insight into the best ways to love them and be patient with them. Like Tyrion Lannister, I too drink and know things.

I love the castle analogy because it’s perfect for visualizing the protection needed by a woman who has been hurt. Whatever is inside the walls is sacred and unique to her, and she can’t bear to have it ransacked or pillaged again.

As a man who has been hurt very badly by someone leaving him, I can relate very well to a certain degree with why a woman would want to guard and fortify themselves.

--

--